Medical Community Recognizes Retiring Physicians

Brattleboro Memorial Hospital and other medical service providers in the area recognized and toasted the careers of twelve retiring physicians during a reception on Thursday, June 28 at The Putney Inn in Putney, Vermont.

The honored physicians, in alphabetical order, were David J. Albright, MD; John R. Bookwalter, MD; Hilke T. Breder, MD; John T. Chard, MD;  David L. Fagelson, MD; Lynn Herzog, MD; Thomas R. Hoskins, MD; Robert D. Nassau, MD; Clyde A. Newton, MD; Walter Slowinski, MD; Burton D. Tepfer, MD; and John Y. Trumper, MD. Many of the physicians have been part of the community since the late1960s and early 1970s, and all together have provided care for approximately 400 years.

“The strong sense of an accepting community and collegiality was mentioned over and over as the primary reason for coming to the area and remaining,” said Elizabeth McLarney, MD, president of the BMH Medical Staff and presided as hostess for the evening’s festivities. “A lot of deep friendships were forged over the years, and we thank all of these fine physicians for their many, many years of service.”

View photos from reception